Date printed: 06-25-2018   Last updated: 11-08-2006

To view our complete support knowledge base and most current version of this article visit support.timeips.com.
316-264-1600
Information
Sales
Support

Applies to versions: 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6



Terminating/Rehiring Employees



TimeIPS maintains employee records for both active and released employees. This article explains how to inactivate, reactive and delete employee records.

Security Level Required: Employee Administrator, System Administrator, or Payroll Administrator

Using the left pane Main Menu, click on: Administration » Employee Management » Employees


Terminating an Employee

TimeIPS stores employee's time and payroll information historically. You will mark terminated employees as no longer employed, rather than deleting their information completely from TimeIPS. You may delete employee records only if the employee does not have any time data and/or a payroll cycle has not passed.

  1. Click on the + sign next to the name of the terminated employee to expand the record.
  2. On the Required or Employment tab, use the Employed pull-down to select "No, eligible for rehire" or "No, not eligible for rehire".

  3. Click on the minus sign next to the employee's name to collapse the record and save the changes. This will inactivate the employee record.

Rehiring an Employee

TimeIPS stores employee's time and payroll information historically. Once an employee's record has been marked as no longer employed, the record becomes inactive but can later be reactivated if the employee is rehired.

  1. Click on the + sign on the Display Options bar to expand the window.
  2. Check the box next to Show released employees, then click on the Display button. Active and released employees will display.
  3. Click on the + sign next to the released employee's name to expand the employee's record.
  4. On the Required or Employment tab, use the Employed pull-down to select "Yes" to reactivate the employee's record.
    NOTE: If the employee's original ID/Badge number has been reassigned to a different employee, you must assign a new ID/Badge number to the rehired employee before leaving this screen.

    TIP: Use the "Suggest ID/Badge Number" to generate an unassigned badge number.
  5. Click on the - sign next to the employee's name to collapse the record and save the changes.

Deleting an Employee Record

TimeIPS stores employee's time and payroll information historically. An employee's record can only be deleted if the employee has never clocked in or out and/or a payroll cycle has not passed.

  1. Click on the + sign next to the employee's name to expand the employee record.
  2. Click on the Employment tab.
  3. Click on the Delete Employee button. TimeIPS will ask you to confirm the deletion. Click on OK. The employee record will be deleted.
    The "Delete Employee" button will not appear if any time events are associated with the employee's record or if a payroll cycle has passed.


See Also:
Employee Administration (1.3, 1.4)

©2004-2018 TimeIPS, Inc. All Rights Reserved - TimeIPS and the TimeIPS logo are registered trademarks of TimeIPS, Inc.
"Intelligent Personnel System" "Run your Business. We'll watch the clock." are trademarks of TimeIPS, Inc.
TimeIPS is protected by one or more patents. Patent No. US 7,114.684 B2.